What you should know before taking online classes!

I must admit, when I scored all but one of my courses for spring quarter to be online I was stoked. I told my boss I’d have all of the time in the world to work and when I wasn’t working I thought I’d have time to be out in the lovely spring weather. Boy, was I wrong. I ran into this same situation this past summer so I’m not too sure why I thought this quarter would be any different.

Here’s some things I think you should know before agreeing to a full course-load online as a full-time working student.

Mon+Compact+fill+2.jpgFirst, get a planner. My planner has saved my you-know-what much more than once this quarter. It can be a lot to juggle an in-class class, online classes and working. I have a calendar on my fridge which is color coordinated, a calendar on my phone AND computer, as well as my planner which I carry with me everywhere.

 

Offduty: Caffine Drinks

Second, be prepared for a lot of sleepless nights and endless amounts of caffeine. I’m serious. It’ll be hard when you’re doing it, but trust me- if I could do it, so can you! Personally, my drink of choice were Ellensburg’s very own X-Treme bulls from the local coffee shop, Winegars. I’m pretty sure I’ve had more of those to drink than anything else this quarter.

social

Third, make time to be social. If you don’t schedule time to have some sort of social life, even if it’s just hanging out on your best friend’s floor for a few hours, a change of scenery and socializing is key if you don’t want to lose your mind! Though it might feel like there’s just not enough time in the day, make time. It’s important!

Lastly, STAY ON TOP OF YOUR SCHOOL WORK. As soon as you get an assignment, start on it. You don’t have to finish it all in that one sitting, but getting a start on it plants the seed. Getting my schoolwork done earlier than the due date left room for any unexpected hiccups or errors. And not to mention, it feels good knowing you’re done with something early for once!

Most people told me that taking online classes was the easiest way to get through school, however they were definitely mistaken for me! Working full-time and going to school full-time is totally possible as long as you work hard and stay focused! (And make time for friends too of course).

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

